• chrisj1600

2020 Legislative Session Begins

On Tuesday, January 7, the Mississippi Legislature convened for the 2020 Legislative Session. On that day Senators were sworn into office and then unanimously elected Senator Dean Kirby as President Pro Temper, former Senator Buck Clarke as Secretary of the Senate, and rules for the 2020-2023 legislative term.

On Thursday, January 9, all statewide elected officials, with the exception of Governor-elect Tate Reeves, were sworn into office during a joint session of the Senate and House. This included Lt. Governor Delbert Hosemann who began presiding over the Senate on Friday, January 10, at which time he assigned Senators to committees.

During this week I was honored to have pages, pictured above, Reid Overstreet (Richton), Trey Thoms (Petal), and Brennan Johnson (Hattiesburg). Also at the Capitol during the week were supervisors from Forrest and Perry Counties and members of the ADP.


Recent Posts

See All

COVID-19 Resources

For a list of COVID-19 test sites follow this link: COVID-19 TEST SITES The University of Mississippi Medical Center is offering triage for symptoms via a new smartphone telehealth app and collection

Get in Touch

Contact Us

IN DISTRICT: P.O. Box 18247 | Hattiesburg, MS 39404 | 601-299-4080

IN JACKSON: P.O. Box 1018 | Jackson, MS 39215 

© 2019 by Chris Johnson